2019 MEM Chamber Sponsor
Ashland Chamber

Chamber Music Concerts presents Emi Ferguson with Ruckus


RUCKUS_916_(c)Zak Cedarholm

Chamber Music Concerts presents Emi Ferguson, flute, with Ruckus baroque ensemble
“…blindingly impressive…Emi Ferguson playing Bach’s flute sonatas with a six-part continuo
band, Ruckus, improvising on the figured bass, a fizzing, daring display of personality and
imagination.” The New York Times

Chamber Music Concerts presents Emi Ferguson, flute, with Ruckus baroque ensemble on Friday, February 24th at 7:30pm at the Southern Oregon University Music Recital Hall. The program, entitled “Fly the Coop,” is a joyous, kaleidoscopic romp through some of J. S. Bach’s most playful and transcendent works. The program features new arrangements of Bach’s Flute Sonatas and Keyboard Preludes, orchestrated for baroque flute and the forces of Ruckus that include theorbos, baroque guitars, baroque bassoon, cello, viola da gamba, harpsichord, organ, bass, and the occasional banjo. Tickets are $36-$45, with $5 tickets for students and Oregon Trail Card holders. To purchase tickets and see program details, visit ChamberMusicConcerts.org.

Hailed by critics for her “hauntingly beautiful performances,” English-American performer and composer Emi Ferguson’s unique approach to the flute can be heard in performances that alternate between the silver flute, historical flutes, and auxiliary flutes, playing repertory that stretches from the Renaissance to today. Ferguson was a featured performer alongside Yo-Yo Ma, Paul Simon, and James Taylor at the 10th Anniversary Memorial Ceremony of 9/11 at Ground Zero, where her performance of Amazing Grace was televised worldwide. Her performance that day is now part of the permanent collection at the 911 Museum.

Ruckus is a shapeshifting, collaborative baroque ensemble with a visceral and playful approach to early music. The band’s playing earned widespread critical acclaim: “achingly delicate one moment, incisive and punchy the next” (New York Times); “superb” (Opera News). Ruckus’s core is a continuo group, the baroque equivalent of a jazz rhythm section: guitars, keyboards, cello, bassoon and bass. Other members include soloists of the violin, flute and oboe. The ensemble aims to fuse the early-music movement’s questing, creative spirit with the grit, groove and jangle of American roots music, creating a unique sound of “rough-edged intensity” (New Yorker). Its members are assembled from among the most creative and virtuosic performers in North American early music, and is based in New York City.

Back to News
Mountain Meadows
Ashland Chamber_Website_AD_400x300-01
Get Email Updates

We will never share your information with any advertiser or third party - read our privacy policy
We want to hear from you!
Ashland Chamber of Commerce | 110 E. Main Street. Ashland, OR 97520 | (541) 482-3486
Office Hours: 10am-3pm, Monday through Friday
Have a Question? Drop us a Note
©2023 Ashland Chamber of Commerce
Site Handcrafted in Ashland, Oregon by Project A